Diablo 4 Necromancer: How to Summon Golem?

Blogs Team Editor

Every class in Diablo 4 is unique and powerful for various playstyles. For instance, you can play as a sorcerer if you like magic or you can opt for a fearsome warrior if you like shear strength. Similarly, millions of players have joined the game as a necromancer, mainly due to the Diablo 4 necromancer skeletons skill, particularly the Golem. Well, who doesn’t like running around the open world with an army of the undead?

The only problem is that the game doesn’t really care to explain how to summon Golem in Diablo 4. So, if you aren’t sure about how this whole game mechanic works, we are here to help, let’s start:

Table Contents

Diablo 4 Necromancer: How to Summon Skeletons?

How to Summon Golem Skeleton

Before you can start summoning your army of minions, you will need one basic ingredient, i.e., a corpse. Most of the times players in Diablo 4 can't summon skeletons is because they don’t have any nearby corpse to get started. Initially, the game allows you to raise up to four undead skeletons when you start the game as a necromancer. However, rising through character levels in Diablo 4 necromancer increase number of skeletons.

The first step in summoning Diablo 4 skeletons is to kill a few enemies using basic attack damage. You will notice that the corpses of dead enemies don’t really disappear after a while. Instead, they appear as a white and red ball of blood on the screen indicating that you can reanimate this skeleton for brief period. Next, focus on the white ball and press the “Raise Skeleton” button to summon 1x skeleton. 

You can repeat this process to raise up to 4 Diablo 4 skeletal warriors or as many as your build can support. Similarly, you can check the current skeleton count next to the essence bar to check if you can summon any more skeletons.

Diablo 4 Necromancer: How to Summon Golem?

Golems are extremely powerful Skeletons in the necromancer class. So, you don’t expect to start summoning them at character level 1, do you? First, you must unlock the Golem summon skill by progressing the story until you reach character level 25. Next, the Necromancer Call of the Underworld will pop up as a priority quest as soon as you hit the level count.

How to Summon Golem Quest

Next, you must speak with Maltorius near the Shrine of Rathma in the northwest of Menestad in the Fractured Peaks region. After completing his requests of gathering 12 Unbroken Bones and filling the Jar of Souls, you must make the sacrifice at the marked altar, you will unlock the Golem. However, you still can’t use this new ability as your regular skill as there is a bit more work to be done.

Add Golem to the Quick Slot

How to Summon Golem Assign

Once you unlock the Golem ability, you must manually assign it to your quick access slot. Simply open the skills menu (S on PC, Start on Console). Next, navigate to the Abilities tab and select Skill Assignment from the bottom of the window. Finally, search for the Golem in the skill tree and drag it to any of your spare skill slots. As for console players, you must press X and manually add the ability to the spare slot.

Keep in mind that only the necromancers can summon the Golem as it comes as part of the Book of the Dead mechanics. Secondly, this ability doesn’t appear like others under the Skill Tree abilities, instead you must manually access the Abilities tab to find all the skills that you earned through quests.

Summon the Golem

After assigning the Golem to your quick access slot, you can press the designated button to summon it at any point. One interesting fact is that the Golem isn’t like your other summonable Skeletons and Warriors, so you don’t need a nearby corpse to summon it. Furthermore, this new ability will attack any nearby enemies if you activate the active skill and only provide defense if you stick to is passive abilities.

How to Upgrade Golem in Diablo 4?

How to Summon Golem Upgrade

Now that you have learned how to summon the Golem, it is time to learn more about his skills and abilities. Currently, there are three variations of Golem in Diablo 4, each having unique traits and active skills. The good news is that you don’t need to complete any more quests or make sacrifices to upgrade them. Instead, you must keep progressing in the game to upgrade the Golem at different character levels:

  • Bone Golem: Unlocks at character level 25 after completing the Call of the Underworld quest.
  • Blood Golem: Automatically unlocks at character level 28.
  • Iron Golem: Automatically unlocks at character level 32.

Once you unlock a new Golem upgrade, you can use your Book of the Dead to switch between the Golem variants. Moreover, you can always replace them back with your lesser Skeletons if you are a fan of sacrificing them for your own sake.


Diablo 4 how to Summon Golem? Well, this article has explained everything that you need to know on this topic and much more. Just remember, mastering all the skills from the Book of the Dead requires serious dedication, so you are in it for a long time. If you have any questions or suggestions, feel free to reach out as we are always happy to accept your input, Go Golem!

Back to Arrow